Interreg: European Territorial Co-operation

European Territorial Cooperation (ETC), better known as Interreg, is one of the two goals of cohesion policy and provides a framework for the implementation of joint actions and policy exchanges between national, regional and local actors from different Member States. The overarching objective of European Territorial Cooperation (ETC) is to promote a harmonious economic, social and territorial development of the Union as a whole. Interreg is built around three strands of cooperation: cross-border (Interreg A), transnational (Interreg B) and interregional (Interreg C).
Five programming periods of Interreg have succeeded each other:  INTERREG I (1990-1993) - INTERREG II (1994-1999) - INTERREG III (2000-2006) - INTERREG IV (2007-2013) - INTERREG V (2014-2020)

Interreg V-A - Greece-Cyprus

Main objectives

The cooperation programme Interreg V-A Greece-Cyprus aims to increase the competitiveness of the eligible area by supporting entrepreneurship and the use of information and communication technologies. The foreseen interventions will improve the capacity of SMEs to exploit opportunities outside the local market with emphasis on sectors that emerge from the RIS3 process. This will take place in a sustainable manner by mitigating or reversing the negative effects of climate change through promoting a low emission economy. The programme aims to integrate all issues relating to the environment, either in terms of protection against risks or in terms of promotion of the natural and cultural heritage.

Funding priorities

The programme will focus on the following three priorities:

  1. Enhancing competitiveness and entrepreneurship in the eligible area.
  2. Efficient use of energy and sustainable transport.
  3. Conservation and protection of the environment and risk prevention.

Some of the expected results

  • Increase the use of Information and Communication Technologies by businesses and the public sector.
  • Reduce air pollutants in urban areas in the eligible area.
  • Enhance accessibility in the border region while improving transport safety.
  • Improve Maritime Spatial Planning and Integrated Coastal Zone Management.
  • Produce Joint tourism development strategies and planning of joint alternative tourism products / destinations.
  • Improve the efficiency of water resources. Promote integrated waste management 


CY Cyprus / ΚΥΠΡΟΣ (KYPROS) (ΚΥΠΡΟΣ (Kypros))

EL Greece / ΕΛΛΑΔΑ (ELLADA) (Λέσβος, Λήμνος (Lesvos, Limnos),, Ικαρία, Σάμος (Ikaria, Samos),, Χίος (Chios), Κάλυμνος, Κάρπαθος, Κως, Ρόδος (Kalymnos, Karpathos, Kos, Rodos),, Άνδρος, Θήρα, Κέα,